My Angel, My Light As Darkness Falls

My Angel, My Light As Darkness Falls
My Romance Books

Saturday, November 22, 2014

ETERNAL PRESS & Damnation Books SALE 25% off between now and the 30th EP/DB sites All listings on eBay 25% off too

Friday, October 10, 2014

Title:  Captured by the Pirate Laird ( Book one Highland Force Series)
Author: Amy Jarecki
Genre: Historical Fiction Romance
Review Rating: Five Stars
Reviewer: Linda Hays-Gibbs
Exciting Romantic Adventure 1559
    We open with a poor maiden being sold into marriage slavery to a fat old Baron. Lady Anne is only nineteen and married by proxy to Baron Wharton, fifty-eight. She has no say in the marriage arranged by her mother the Countess of Southampton and her uncle the Earl. She leaves her home and all she knows, to go on a ship to her new husband, alone. Her new husband is too tight to hire a chaperone. She is feeling quite betrayed and miserable on the Flying Swan heading toward her doom. She thinks things can't get worse when cannons fire and her bedroom door is blasted aside and a terribly handsome Scottish pirate finds her.
     It just gets started here and you go on a magic adventure through Scotland and onto an island called Raasay with the handsome Scot, Laird Calum MacLeod.
   With Anne's proxy marriage keeping these two apart even besides the sparks flying everywhere, it gets awfully hot in the chilly Highlands anyway.
    Calum was not expecting to have a beautiful prisoner to ransom. He soon found that his heart needed to be ransomed too.
     Calum's sweet caring sister, Mara and her loving husband John are great characters too and give the story more body. They help the hero and heroine a lot.
     Anne finds her courage and Calum his heart. They are a perfect match but alas she is already married.
    I will not give away all the spoilers but I say I laughed and cried. It kept me intrigued. I just loved it.
    I did have a few points I must mention but they in no way diminished my pleasure in this book.
    There were some typos and omitted words. There was also something I'd like to mention of historical value that might help Miss Jarecki. I found you referred to the Kepe as Keep and you had the Scots wearing their kilts while riding horses. Trews were better for riding. The Highlands did not have horses for a long time so kilts were grand but without pants of some kind a horse could ruin you quick. Just a note for future reference.
   It was however; a wonderful book and I really...really enjoyed it. I just thought you might consider that.
Thank you so much for the pleasure of reading your novel. It was delightful.
Linda Hays-Gibbs

Tuesday, October 7, 2014

Title: All A Lady Wants
Author: Connie Crow
Genre: Historical Romance
Review Rating: Five Stars
Reviewer: Linda Hays-Gibbs
     Lady Sarah Evanston was living with Aunt Hortense, the Countess of Breckenridge in her townhouse in London, England. Sarah comes into her money soon and she plans to move out to her country estate.
     Lade Sarah is in love with Lord Reggie Guilworth, who is in line to be the Fifth Duke of Guilworth. The poor girl recently lost both her parents and it's imperative she choose a husband this season.
    Lord Reggie was interested in Sarah but was working for the government and under the spell of a courtesan. He finally realizes that he was not the love of the courtesan's life. In fact she was busy with several paramours.
     Reggie knows that Sarah loves him but he is afraid to put her in danger as he is in service with the government.
    Sarah decides she must select a man this season or be a spinster.
     She is pursued by several men but one Lord Marten has made his intentions known.  Sarah comes into her own money and estate and wants to live in the country alone with her aunt. All her fiends seem against this. Sarah is determined and moves to her estate and plans her own ball.
    There are French spies, intrigue, murders, and love interests galore. It is a very interesting time they have in the country.
     Reggie can't seem to get the nerve up to tell Sarah how he feels, that he realizes he loves her.  The Frenchman makes Reggie jealous and Lord Marten lets it be known his intentions to ask for Sarah.
     Sarah has almost given up on a husband that she will love and who will love her. She will marry so she isn't a spinster. Lord Marten is the one she decides to accept though she still loves Reggie.
    French aristocrats must meet in emergency to find out who the traitor in their mist is? The house is guarded but spies still get through. Reggie is trying to keep Sarah safe.
It is an exciting adventure. I give it Five Stars for content and Characters. Jamison the butler, the cousins, Emile Drew, Janette and staff are all so interesting and fleshed. It felt more like a large family. They all cared about each other. I enjoyed this interesting romantic adventure.
Linda Hays-Gibbs

Wednesday, August 27, 2014

Title:  Written in the Cards
Author: Lauren Linwood
Genre: Historical Fiction (Western, 1868)
Review Rating: Four Stars
Reviewer: Linda Hays-Gibbs
     Ben Morgan has his share of bad luck. His wife and baby were killed by Indians and now he's a gambler. The problem is the guy he's playing cards with is cheating and his brother, Black Tex Lonnegan is a hired killer. If He don't call Jimmy Lonnegan out for cheating he will lose money, but if he does call him a cheat, his brother may kill him.
     Finally, he can take no more and he calls the guy for cheating. He draws killing another fellow before Ben kills him. Needless to say Ben leaves quickly. He joins a cattle drive to head to Abilene, Kansas hoping the killer won't follow.
     Margaret Rutherford is about to march down the aisle when she finds out her fiancée only wants her money. He's deep in debt from his father and her money is his only hope. She leaves out the back door with him standing at the alter. Her brother, Marcus Rutherford, head of Rutherford Publishing left a car out front of the church for her.
     Next, years later in Abilene a bunch of cowboys come off the Chisholm trail. Margaret wants to interview one of them for her latest book. She sees the most handsome scrumptious specimen and goes directly for him. She doesn't waste time in getting her interview and information but before she leaves he grabs her and gives her the most delicious kiss ever. She is smitten and doesn't  know what has hit her.
     Maggie's near marriage was nothing to the feelings Ben Morgan makes her feel. Her books are selling. She never wants to go back to New York or marry but this new man has her going in circles.
     Ben leaves to visit his brother and finds him at death's door. He was in an accident saving his daughter from a runaway carriage. The girl Jennie can't hear because of having mumps now and didn't hear the carriage coming. He saved the girl but he wasn't so lucky.
 Rebecca, Jennie's mother is nursing Ben's brother Adam but he dies. Ben promised his brother he would see about Jennie and the new baby that was coming. He works at his brother's store and helps his brother's family.
     Maggie turns up in Easton to see her friend Frank Stansel. Seeing Ben there surprised her. She has an accident and they all take care of her. She falls more deeply in love with Ben.
     This is an endearing story of love in the old West. It was exciting and all together lovely. There was only one thing that I had a little trouble with and it was that Maggie traveled alone. Maggie acted completely against the conventions of the times. It was hard for me to see a woman acting like she did in that day and age. It was just highly improbable. That kept me a little twisted and some of the language was off too. I just don't think they talked that way then. Of course, if you can ignore that it is a delightful take of romance in the West.
      I gave this fine author Four Stars and look forward to reading more of her work. She is unique, insightful, and very interesting.  I think her characters were completely fleshed and interesting and her plot true.
Linda Hays-Gibbs

Tuesday, August 19, 2014

Title: How to Lose a Duke in Ten Days
Author:Laura Lee Guhrke
Genre: Historical Romance
Review Rating: Five Stars
Reviewer: Linda Hays-Gibbs
   Edie Anne Jewel snares Stewart, The Duke of Margrave at a Ball by following him to the garden and proposing. Her proposal offered her million dollar dowry to his debt ridden estates. He can continue living carefree in Africa and she will take care of his estates and people. It was the answer to his prayers. They marry and he leaves but after five years he comes back.
Edie is appalled that he returns. All her plans and freedom are in jeopardy.
     She must get rid of her Duke so she proposes a new deal. If she doesn't kiss him in ten days, he will let her have a legal separation so she can leave him.
   Stuart sets out to capture her heart not realizing her heart is scared and shriveled by her past. He had cared little for her reasons to her first proposal because it offered him all he desired then but now all he desires is Edie.
     Can he win her heart or will she win the bet and gain her freedom. What dark secrets are in her heart and why does the Duke suddenly care? Can he make his wife love him?
    This love story is charming and enduring fraught with the pitfalls of practicality versus love. There are always reasons why people do the things they do. These characters are deep, disturbing and human. I thought both Stuart and Edie were inspirational. Edie has deep secrets and fears that affect her life. The thing she wants is not what she needs and she's a lucky girl because somebody cares enough to find out what is underneath the problem finally. Stuart decides Edie is worth the effort.
The little sister Johanna is a lovely addition. She acts just like a little sister should with love for her older sister. I love that she wanted her sister to be happy.
    This is a lovely romance with deeply flawed characters that make this a very interesting and fulfilling romantic tale.
     I highly recommend this book if you love romance. I gave it Five Stars and an added plus sign.
Linda Hays-Gibbs

Saturday, August 9, 2014

Title: Never Less Than A Lady
The Lost Lords Series
Author: Mary Jo Putney
Genre: Historical Romance
Review Rating: Five Stars
Reviewer: Linda Hays-Gibbs
     Two broken people with scars on their bodies and in their hearts find each other and believe there may be a chance for happiness. This is a struggle through dark places but the goal is to live again in the light.
     Alexander David Randall sells out of the army to answer the call to duty as the heir to the Earl of Daventry. He was thinking of going home anyway so he is happy to leave the war. His Uncle was never fond of him but he doesn't want his linage to die so he urges him to take a wife, immediately.
     Julia Bancroft is a midwife that Alex can't get out of his mind. He determines he might check on her and see if she has thought of him.
     Julia is kidnapped by ruffians and is assured she will die. Alex hears about it and sets off to rescue her. The problem is her kidnappers were hired by Alex's uncle.
    This story is a long journey through two lives that were shaped by extreme cruelty and bleak prospects. The thing is how can love triumph over such horrible circumstances?
It is a love story of epic proportions.
     I gave the author Five Stars. The characters were flesh and blood people who come alive on the pages. It was a wonderful page turner that was delightful.
I heartily recommend this love story to all who love romance. Oh...If we could all have an Alex! Thank you Mary Jo Putney.
Linda Hays-Gibbs

Thursday, August 7, 2014

Title: Hawk's Gift
Author: Mary M. Forbes
Genre: Historical Romance
Review Rating: Four Stars
Reviewer: Linda Hays-Gibbs
     Roberta (Bobbie) Taylor is caught in a very precarious position. She is being auctioned off as a virgin at a house of ill repute. She seems too naive for words. She doesn't know how this could happen when she went to this place to interview the Madame about her brothel. She's forced onstage and everyone seems drunk.
     Damien Larocque is a Métis Indian enjoying his liqueur when he sees the beautiful girl with long blonde hair being auctioned on stage. He decides in his inebriated state that he will bid for her even though he has no money. He will simply fight his way out of the place with the little thing under his arm.
     Needless to say he carries her away and gets carried away .she is a high born rich lady and he is a wild heathen. He remains carried away and savage throughout this lovely romance.
    The characters have myriad flaws to overcome and obstacles to overcome in their war torn world. In a world where the beautiful wilderness of Canada is described and the battles between whites and Aborigines are waging a miracle happens.
Boy meets girl and love blossoms.
    I was amazed at the History and circumstances of the across the border happenings with the US and Canada too. I love finding out new perspectives and information in my romance novels.
    Mary Forbes delights me in all aspects except for some typographical errors and the ending. I wanted more. I wanted to know what happened between the fighting forces. I wanted to know about their friends, Marie and Pierre, her father and brother, and I wanted to see the couple's future a little more. It ended too abruptly for me. It is just such a great novel and not really short but with so much happening...maybe there is a sequel. I do hope so. I did thoroughly enjoy the writing, characters, plot and problems.
I thank the author for a wonderful exciting erotic engaging read.
Linda Hays-Gibbs

Tuesday, August 5, 2014

Title: Lord of Temptation
Author: Lorraine Heath
Genre: Historical Romance
Review Rating: Five Stars
Reviewer: Linda Hays-Gibbs
    This is the second in the Lords of Pembrook Series. I read them out of order but still enjoyed them.

    Lord Tristan Easton is an emotionally flawed Lord but living a life on the sea. He has his own ship; calls himself Crimson Jack and commands his men. A man not to be trifled with as he takes nothing from anyone. Into a bar he is enjoying walks a vision. He can't believe his eyes; a Lady in a dockside bar. He immediately wants her
     Lady Anne Hayworth is desperate for someone to take her to her betrothed, Walter in Scutari. She will pay handsomely and was told she could trust Crimson Jack. She tries to offer him 200 pounds but he will not bargain with her for money. He wants her in his bed.
     Lady Anne is furious. How dare he insult her? She will hire another.
    Crimson Jack pays all Captains twice what she offers to refuse her. Soon she returns to him and confronts him.
    She stalks back to him but she is furious. He decides not to push it and says he will settle for a kiss when he wants it. His own timing.
     Finally she agrees and they are off into a grand and glorious adventure.
    I must tell you I loved this. I read Rafe's story, another brother before this one and knew the boys were scared emotionally as well as physically.
    It was a wonderful romance with Tristan and Anne's problems; they really needed each other. I was rooting for them from the first but it would take a lot to melt Tristan's hard heart.
    I won't give away too much of the story but all the characters are full bodied and the author makes you feel for them till the end. I thought the story was headed in one direction but it was different and exciting. It had erotic moments and the beautiful story of romance was all as it should be.
Linda Hays-Gibbs

Thursday, July 24, 2014

Title: Lord of Wicked Intentions
Author: Lorraine Heath
Genre: Historical Romance/Sexy
Review Rating: Five Stars
Reviewer: Linda Hays-Gibbs
     In Yorkshire, England, Lord Rafe Easton waited on his brothers. They fled for their lives ten years earlier; splitting up to survive. He was the youngest only 10 years old. He felt abandoned and now ten years later he felt the same. His life was riddled with pain and suffering.
    Four years later they show up. Tristan and Sebastian were sorry but he wasn't buying their excuses. He was left alone while they had each other and he had suffered unspeakable things.
    Evelyn Chambers lost her father, the Earl of Wortham. He spoiled her terribly before he died and sheltered her from the world. She was the daughter of his mistress and he never wanted her hurt because she was illegitimate. He had made his son, Geoffrey promised to take care of her on his deathbed.
     When he died Geoffrey locked her in her room not even letting her go to the funeral.
   After the funeral he tells her to get dressed and meet some gentlemen friends of his. She thinks it is to meet a prospective husband. In actuality it is to sell her to the highest bidder.
The men are talking of sampling her when Rafe jumps up and declares he will take her and no one will argue. Rafe is terrifying to all of them. He has her brother bring her to him the next day.
     This story is so very interesting because Rafe has so many problems. He is dangerous in so many different ways. I fell for him myself. He is just scrumptious even with all his hangups. Evelyn has some problems too but nothing like Rafe. I was rooting for this hero villain the whole time.
I think he was so very deep and interesting. I enjoyed this sexy tale and recommend it to one and all with Five Stars. It was a very deep mesmerizing sexy tale.
Linda Hays-Gibbs

Friday, July 18, 2014

Title: Pleasures of a Notorious Gentleman
Author: Lorraine Heath
Genre: Historical a Romance
Review Rating: Five Stars
Reviewer: Linda Hays-Gibbs
   Stephen Lyons is a notorious man with the ladies but he promises them nothing except pleasure; which he delivers in spades. He swears he will never marry. He has two brothers that both have titles and money. Stephen has no money but he swears to be the best lover in all of London. His brothers are not amused and want to make him grow up. They buy him a commission and put him in the middle of a war with Russia in the Crimea. He is reported dead.
    Mercy Dawson, a nurse from the Crimea arrives at Stephen's brother's, estate and presents him and Stephen's mother with a three month old baby. She swears it is Stephen's son. She only wants to be his nanny but her father insists money should be paid. Duke Ainsley, the brother listens to her story. His mother says the boy does look like Stephen. Ainsley says let's ask Stephen and calls for his brother.
     Mercy almost feints from the news he is alive. She is afraid. Afraid her lies will be uncovered but Stephen doesn't expose her. She is confused about his behavior. She finds she still loves him more than ever and will do anything for him.
     Stephen has a secret though a very big secret.
     I will tell no more about this wonderful story except to say it is well worth the reading. It is an excellent and steamy escape. I gave it Five Stars. I highly recommend it. The characters had very real problems to overcome and sometimes you are sure all is lost!
   It leads you around some difficult problems and I love the ending. It's a wonderful steamy romantic escape. I couldn't put it down

Linda Hays-Gibbs

Wednesday, July 16, 2014

Title: Uncommon Vows
Author: Mary Jo Putney
Genre: Historical Romance
Review Rating: Five Stars
Reviewer: Linda Hays-Gibbs
    What an outstanding romance from the dark ages. I couldn't stop till I devoured the whole thing. I love Mrs. Putney's work and she did not disappoint.
     It's hard to write romantically about the dark ages. Most of the men had to be brutes to survive and women were not treated well. This story does the impossible. It takes two people in a savage age and land and makes them real people with genuine problems filled with exciting emotions.
This romance opens in 1137 with a girl about to take vows to be a nun and a boy ready to be a monk. There world is war torn and savage but their religious beliefs have protected them.
    Tragedy strikes the boy, Adrian de Lancey. His whole family is slaughtered except his base born half brother Richard Fitzhugh.  Richard goes to the Abbey and tells his brother he is now the heir and cannot take his final vows. Adrian leaves to take up his responsibilities at fifteen.
   Later years, after a battle Adrian sees a beautiful little nun that stirs his heart as he and his men stop for rest after a battle. He feels very guilty about it too,  since she is a nun. She is so beautiful to him and he doesn't forget her even after years of warfare.
     Ten years later, Mariel de Vere is out flying her falcon when her horse is almost gored by a wild boar. She is thrown from her horse and left alone.
     Adrian finds her and won't let her go. He takes her back to his castle. Meriel loves her freedom. She couldn't become a nun because it was so confining. She can't stand being held against her will.
   Things come to a head and Meriel fights with Adrian with horrible results.
There is enough guilt to choke a horse in this tale from both of them. There is also a lot of lustful tension as well as adventure.  I think it all keeps the action engrossing.
     I loved the characters. They lived before my eyes. It was like I could see it all happening like a movie.
    I won this book in a contest and was thrilled to read it. If you haven't had the pleasure of reading this book I heartily recommend you do. I gave it Five Stars for excellent plot and characters. I lived it. Thank you Mary Joe Putney for a wonderful, exciting, and engrossing read.
Linda Hays-Gibbs

Monday, June 9, 2014

Title: Saving Grace
Author: Sandy James
Genre: Historical Romance
Review Rating : Four Stars
Reviewer: Linda Hays-Gibbs

   This story has a few switches in time but it starts out in San Francisco in 1881. Grace Riley is trying to find out where her brother (spoiler, really her son) is. She tries to get the needed information through Stephen Shay, the man that raped her twenty years ago.
     Stephen Shay has hounded her since she was fourteen and she has stayed on cattle drives with her brother to keep out of his reach. Shay uses detectives to find her and he is her last hope to find her brother.      Grace is tormented by Shay and he thinks Grace
loves him when all she can feel is loathing and hate.
Grace gets the information but,  of course Shay wants more from her.
    She brought her pistol and shoots him. Now she runs for her life from the law.
     Grace knocks on the door of the address Shay gave her. She has literally walked to Montana and the last miles especially. She's soaked from rain and frozen.
     Twin Springs Ranch outside White Pines. Montana; a soaked and desperately ill Grace knocks on Adam Morgan's door. She stumbles in and asks for Jake Curtis; then proceeds to collapse into his arms. Adam is frantic to save her and soon (spoiler) falls in love with her. She fights for her life and in her nightmares tells Adam what she never would while awake.
    Adam brought the boy Jake home with him when he was starving on the streets. He raised him and he is married now. Adam cannot get Grace to tell him her story and this worries him.
     Grace is sure she will be arrested at any moment but frantically wants to see her brother (spoiler, son) before they take her away. She takes weeks to heal. Adam wants to be sure she isn't out to hurt Jake,
   Mathew Riley shows up searching for his sister and meets Adam's daughter, Victoria Morgan. They have an immediate attraction and hatred for each other.
     This story has so many twists and turns it keeps you guessing and turning pages. The characters are so endearing and real to you. Grace suffers and you suffer with her from her past to the present. She is a brave woman and soon you love her too.
     I gave this story Four Stars only because I found there were a few typos and inserted words. These can be fixed with another edit. If this is done correctly, it would be easy to give her the Five Stars I want to give now. It is a marvelous tale. I think anyone would enjoy the adventure. It is worth the read. Thanks to the author for a wonderful story.
Linda Hays-Gibbs


Thursday, June 5, 2014

Title: An Unlikely Countess
Author: Jo Beverley
    One night an impoverished and unloved Catesby goes to the aid of an impoverished damsel in distress,  Prudence. He finds that she is more impoverished than he. He takes pity and leaves her the few coins he has with him. He also is rewarded with a sweet kiss. He finds he cannot dismiss her so easily from his mind. He really cares about her.
     Prudence gets the courage she was lacking from the rescue by Cate. His encouraging words helped her. She can't seem to forget that one sweet kiss eitger. Her hero left her a pin to sell but she keeps it for a talisman for her courage against her selfish brother. She finally goes to confront him. She barges into her sister-in-law 's world demanding what is her right . Pru had to blackmail her but she gets food, shelter, clothes and suiters.
     She decides to marry the wealthy man recommended by her sister-in-law. Her future now looks hopeless without love for she can't forget Cate.
    When she is at the wedding alter marrying the nasty wealthy man, Cate bursts into the scene again demanding that Pru was promised to him. He has rescued her again. They leave the church quickly and marry.
     This is not the end but only the beginning of this adventure.
     Superbly written and extremely interesting. I found I loved this story. She wove a genuine tale of how bleak the prospects of a woman were in this time frame.
The second or third sons had a bleak life too but they could work, women couldn't. It was either starve or become a fallen woman taking pay for her favors.
The characters made me so engaged I became enraged at the selfish brother and the uncaring mother of Cate. It was an engrossing read and on par with Beverley's other outstanding work. I couldn't put it down and you won't be able to either.
   I gave her Five Stars and wish I had Ten. I loved this one.

Title: A Game of Chance
Author: Lauren Linwood
Genre: rrHistorical Fantasy
Review Rating: Five Stars
Reviewer: Linda Hays-Gibbs
     This story opens in 1845 New York with Cara Lee Fisher in labor taunted by her horrible husband. He says such cruel things to her, as she suffers labor.
Gordon Fisher seems to have no heart, as he callously tells his poor wife she is going to die, and he's taking his heir and son and leaving her dying. He leaves with his son but after he leaves his wife gives birth to another son. The poor midwife doesn't even know the woman's or the man's name. The poor Cara Lee dies and the midwife takes the baby home with her.
    Next it's 1870 in California and Jeb is in jail for a murder he did not do. When confronted with his own face on a wanted poster; he was at a loss to explain. He got a chance to escape  because there was a sort of riot at the prison over another prisoner.
     Jeb escapes to San Francisco and into a whore house where he hides out. When a posse comes searching for him in that establshment the owner hides him. He finds the owner, who is 20 years older than him very alluring to him. He can't understand why he is so attracted to her.
    He's broke and decides to gamble into a little cash. He ends up winning big and finally; winning the exact whorehouse that he hid in that first night.
     Lillian Frontiere is the Madame of the whorehouse but she is ill and her daughter is disguising herself to be her mother. The daughter's name is Lil or Lillian too but goes by Lil.
     Jeb Stone's luck seems to have changed since he became the owner of the whorehouse. He finds out that Lil is the daughter and falls madly in love. Lil can't seem to define her feelings because she doesn't trust men. It's hard for her too for her mother is dying.
     There is the nasty twin brother Cal Hart Fisher that turns up in the same town and whorehouse. This is a very busy place for even the father Gordon Fisher frequents it and the man Jeb swore to avenge for his friend's death, Simon Morgan.Gordon's grandfather Max Fisher  lives in this town too and he throws Carl Hart out on his ear for his behavior. Max loved Lillian and cares a great deal about Lil. He is also a multi millionaire.
      Jeb meets Max later and Max is utterly amazed at the likeness of Jeb to Carl. The two could be twins.. Max  can't believe the story he hears from Gordon on how he treated Cara Lee and how he left his other son.
     Actually the boys are twins and it is a heartfelt story of one man's cruelty and selfishness tarnishing the lives of three generations. It shows the consequences of a brutal nature on the lives of others and how fate has a way of catching up to everyone. I was totally fascinated with the journey that all the characters took. How the rash orders of a grandfather could actually father cruelty.
     I was so happy that one of the twins was raised an orphan with no prospects but poverty. He had to work for his education from the nurse that raised him. He had to work hard to eat but he knew the value of having someone to love. He could have gone so wrong but he doesn't. He becomes a gambler but not a cheat. It makes you think about all the spoiled brats that are raised because they are given everything. The people that work hard and achieve something are the better people.
     This story twists and turns your heart into a romantic fantasy with unusual style. The characters have their own personalities and voice. It was like they  lived for you. I enjoyed the detail and scene setting too. I gave it five stars for carrying my emotions through the gamete. It was a very nice historical romance with a very good lesson or moral in it.
Linda Hays-Gibbs

Wednesday, May 7, 2014

Title: The Earl, a Girl, and a Promise
Author: Kate Rothwell
Genre: Historical Fiction
Review Rating: Five Stars
Reviewer: Linda Hays-Gibbs
    Paul Denton visits his uncle the Earl of Latterly on his deathbed and discovers that he is not the new Earl upon his death. He promises the Earl he will search for this other relation.  He has a cousin in America that should inherit and his uncle kept this marriage secret from everyone including the woman he was presently married to. Paul travels to New York  to check out this new information. 
     While he is investigating; a naked woman runs into him scattering his brains into a lust filled obsession. He cannot stop himself from wanting her and having her. He hopes the episode is over and continues searching for his cousin.
     Finally; with a street urchin named Tad he finds his cousin Johnny Smith. He is bailing him out of jail when the beauty from last night walks in. He finds she is his cousin's half sister and he is appalled by the amount of lust he still has for her. He tries to control himself but finds he must reeducate the new Earl. He removes Tad, Johnny, and Emma, his beautiful seductress to the country to further educate them in the proper deportment of an Earl. There he meets their mother Rita, a loud out spoken woman with no refinement.
     Paul tries to control himself around Emma but when her old beau, Mr. Bishop shows his interest in Emma; Paul goes crazy. His father had a mental breakdown and he is convinced this is the start of his demise.
     The new cousin that is set to inherit is a loud mouthed street trained pick pocket and all around scoundrel. However; on Johnny's credit Paul finds he has a good heart and is eager to learn. Johnny is quick to learn and wants to do right by his family but is no good at pretense. He sees that his half sister and Paul have an intense interest in each other and thinks it a grand development. His mother is so outspoken and irreverent she didn't care that people thought her an unwed mother when all along she was the Earl's rightful wife. 
     Paul is having a nightmare thinking how all this will be accepted by London's aristocratic society especially the Tun.
     Emma thought she was the only one keeping them from starving and was trying a job out singing at a club when a brut tried to take advantage and literally ripped her costume off. That was the state she was in when she ran into Paul. Now she has to swallow her humiliation for her brother's sake and pretend she doesn't want Paul with all her heart.      
    There are so many twists and turns to this story it keeps you guessing. They go to London and Paul tries to teach them all to behave. He has a hard time making himself behave around Emma though.
     I loved each and every character because they were so human and funny, fully fleshed and enchanting.
    This story is hilarious and endearing with a great love story too. 
     I laughed out loud at parts and kept turning pages for the rest of the book. It was a delight to read.
      I gave it Five Stars and wish I had more to give. 
Linda Hays-Gibbs

Wednesday, April 23, 2014

Title: His Perfect Game
Author: Jenn Langston
Genre:Historical Romance
Review Rating: Five Stars
Reviewer: Linda Hays-Gibbs

     Greyson Thorpe, Viscount Merrick was a gambler and a bastard, but his father loved him and left him his heir. The problem was he wanted to be accepted by London society as his title should. He was a great card player so he decided to gamble with a respected Duke for his support in society. He had to pauper the Duke and strike a deal to return his estates and IOUs for respectability. It took Greyson over a year to maneuver the Duke into this position but he finally succeeded. The Duke had a daughter and a marriage with her would seal his fate into society.
     Hammond Everett, Duke of Donetic was the perfect mark for Greyson. The game went well and they agreed. Greyson would marry his daughter and he would get his estates back.
    Willimena Abigail Everett was the Dukes daughter and punching bag. He beat her at least once a week and her mother knew too. The supposed grand Duke was an unholy horrible man. Abigail wore extra padding and armor to keep her father from making her marry for all men were brutes. She also wore black powder on her hair since a child because he hated red hair and would become enraged when he saw it.
   This is an interesting scenario a she is abused by her fathering and assured by her mother that she will be abused in marriage.
Abigail become throughly confused by her suitor and tries to continue her masquerade into their marriage. It is confusing to her new husband too.
Abigail has a lot if hang ups that are hard for her to overcome. Greyson is a vet patient man and realizes she needs time but becomes frustrated several times with Abigail's persistence.
Their personalities are suited though you wonder if Greyson is winning or losing at times. He has a hard time trying to prove his love.
    You find yourself rooting for Greyson and praying that Abigail can overcome her father's abuse. The people in this story are very real to you. I know of people in this day and time that have similar hang ups. This only increases your sympathy for them both.
     This is tragic and funny and throughly enjoyable.
I gave it five stars for the personalities of the characters and the determination of the hero. Thank God for heroes.
Linda Hays-Gibbs

Saturday, March 29, 2014

 The producer of Noah should be ashamed! Russell Crowe should be ashamed! Do not go see this atheistic film! It has nothing to do with God!
    This movie is an abomination! It will lead people astray that haven't read the Bible and don't know what God said. This man is on dangerous ground for God says in the Bible if one dot is taken from the Bible and used to mislead that God will judge them.  This atheist producer has strayed so far away from the Noah of the Bible that I actually gagged. I was appalled when Noah wanted to kill his newborn grand daughters. 
    I was sickened when demons (fallen angels) built the ark and went back to Heaven? Hello? Demons go to Hell and so will this producer. Russell Crowe did a brilliant job of acting but I'm ashamed I ever liked him as an actor. 
    He perverted God's Word and seemed to enjoy it. I shall never watch him again in anything and I was one of his biggest fans, but no more. We have Cain on the Ark eating the animals alive? Nasty and Wrong like so much of this nasty filthy lying movie of Satan. 
     Never does Noah pray to God or worship God and Noah was a Godly man that was why he was saved! 
     This film is an affront to God to Christianity to Judaism and Islam. This film sins in the sight of God and this Producer is in danger of Hell fire!!

Monday, March 17, 2014

Title: Dancing with the Duke
Author: Suzanna Medeiros
Genre: Regency Romance
Review Rating: Five Stars
Reviewer: Linda Hays-Gibbs

Romantic Fantasy

     Alexander Thompson, the Duke of Clarington  must dance with Charlotte Grant at Almacks of all places. He has dodged the marriage mart for years but his mother the dowager Duchess is sponsoring his sister Lucy's friend Charlotte. Charlotte is in love with Alex since; she was a baby and would love just to fall into Alex's arms.
       The problems are multiple. He needs to take care he's not trapped in a marriage he doesn't want. Charlotte wants to marry but wishes it would be Alex.
His sister thinks if he will dance with Charlotte at Almacks; it will assure her of a successful season. Alex remembers the awkward friend of Lucy but is surprised by the beauty that enters Almacks. 
   What a great romance! Loved every minute of it and you will too. This is a must read. I gave it Five Stars!
Linda Hays-Gibbs

Sunday, March 16, 2014

Title: Lynna's Rogue
Author: Kitty Margo
Genre:  Regency Romance in America and Historical Fiction
Review Rating: Five Stars
Reviewer: Linda Hays-Gibbs

A Very Different Kind of Tale
     Captain Joshua Jordan is asked to care for the richest man in France, Nathan Rhodes' daughter, Lynna Rhodes on his ship, as she journeys to her Aunt Julia's in America.
     Nathan is terrified his daughter will be kidnapped; since several attempts were made to get Lynna, and his wife was kidnapped and killed.
     Captain Jordan will receive a huge sum of money to care for her and deliver her safely. He thinks its a great deal and will share with his crew but he has not see her yet.  When he sees her beauty and innocence; he is completely undone. He is tempted beyond his control.
    Lynna is so innocent that she doesn't  know she is compromised until someone tells her. She is hurt and disillusioned by Captain Jordan and vows to never see him again. She goes to her Aunt's but does not hear from her father. She pines for Josuah.
     Joshua pines for her but will not admit it. His father becomes ill and he must return to his estate and leave the sea. He finds Lynna close by.
   This story weaves around your heart and mind. It is a very different kind of Regency with it based in America. I gave it Five Stars for originality and tension between the hero and heroine. It's a must read; if you love Historical Fiction.
Linda Hays-Gibbs

Thursday, March 13, 2014

Title: Intentions of the Earl
Author: Rose Gordon
Genre: Regency Romance and  Historical Fiction
Review Rating :Five Stars
Reviewer: Linda Hays-Gibbs

     Exciting and Different
    The poor and desperate Andrew Black the Earl of Townson is recruited to ruin a young girl from the Banks family by Benjamin Collins, the Duke of Gateway. 
     The Duke was rejected by Miss Brooke Banks and the Duke is determined to make the whole family suffer. He wants them all to leave and return to the states. He has the deed to a piece of property that the Earl wants. They strike a bargain and the Earl is off to the Banks family residence to choose among the three daughters: Liberty, Madison and Brooke. Andrew sets his sights on Brooke immediately and becomes fascinated by her. Brooke falls for the poor Earl and determines she will have him so when he kisses her she allows him liberties and soon finds herself ruined. 
     Andrew isn't sure about the agreement any more when he becomes enamored with Brooke, but it seems it is already too late for Brooke's reputation. 
     This is an exciting Regency and I found it different and intriguing. I enjoyed reading it. I give it Five stars for character development and plot. This was a different kind of regency where the heroes were not very heroic looking because of their schemes. I was glad that the hero finally woke up. 
I recommend this Regency read to everyone who loves regency romance. 

Tuesday, February 25, 2014

Title: Beautiful Ruins
Author: Jess Walker
Genre: Fiction
Review Rating: Five Stars
Reviewer: Linda Hays-Gibbs

Exciting, Hilarious, Artistic and Enduring
Pasquale is a young man of dreams. He dreams of a beachfront for his island
of rocks, American tourists, and a grand hotel; instead of his humble hotel to
make him a success. One day an American actress does grace his hotel but he
wonders if it is an accident. Then he finds himself drawn to her and her plight.

Diagnosed with stomach cancer Dee Moray is sent to a pitiful island of
rocks to wait for the man she loves to take her to Switzerland for cancer
treatment. The reality is she is pregnant with Richard Burton's baby and took
off the set of Cleopatra to have an abortion; curtesy of Michael Deane the
publicity agent over the film. His interest is purely mercenary as he wants to
keep the outrageous romance between Burton and Taylor going with no wrinkles.
This woman Dee could disrupt a film that has already went way over budget.
Burton isn't told about it until Pasquale goes to find Deane and confronts
him for his mistreatment of Dee. Then we have a hilarious intervention by Burton
and Pasquale.
Dee escapes without anyone knowing where and continues her life in
Washington far away from Hollywood. She has her baby; names him Pat, and he
grows up to look and act like Burton.
We have several story lines here. Claire the Hollywood producer Deane's
assistant. The author Mr. Bender,that stays at Pasquale's hotel too and Amedea,
Pasquale's sweetheart. Dee's troubles raising Pat and etc. It switches back and
forth between the 60's and present day too.
It could be very confusing but to me it was delightful, exciting, hilarious,
and enduring. This story teaches a great deal about life and mistakes and
righting wrongs. I loved it and gave it Five Stars. Great originality, beautiful
descriptions, wonderful characters and great storyline. Excellent story Jess

Linda Hays-Gibbs

Tuesday, February 11, 2014

Title: Viscount Breckenridge to the Rescue
Author: Stephanie Laurens
Genre: Erotic Historical Romance
Review Rating: Five Stars
Reviewer: Linda Hays-Gibbs

Title: Intense Poetic Erotic Romance

Lady Heather Cynster decided to seek her hero in unlikely places. The man she always wanted happened to be there but he was also a friend to her brothers and sent her home from the sinful place she selected to find this mysterious hero of hers. She is ushered ungraciously and quite literally pushed from Wadham Gardens at Lady Herford's infamous salon. The man, Viscount Breckenridge makes her day a misery and has always afflicted her that way. She fell in love with him over four years ago but he thinks she's a baby. She was ushered out to get into her carriage when a strange carriage pulls up and two gentlemen grab her and put her into their carriage. Breckemridge sees this horrible event and takes chase to rescue her.
They find themselves on the road to Scotland and no clue as to why. The fellows that captured Heather are not really bad fellows but could pass for nice gents though Heather is still taken against her will and told little about why. They, Fletcher and Cobbins even hire her a maid, Martha to accompany her. These strange characters add depth to the story and the suspense builds.
Later Heather finds out that they are only abducting her for another mysterious man named McKinsey but they know it is not his real name. The mystery deepens when they don't stop in London but travel on North.
Heather is followed at a distance by Breckenridge her only hope. She finds that his help assures her and gives her courage to endure her captivity. He is only anxious to return her to her family as soon as possible but finds they are headed to Scotland. The mystery is heightened when Heather learns they did not want just her but any Cynster miss would do the Laird McKinsey. Heather decides she can't escape with Breckenridge right away but must find out all she can for the safety of her siblings and her family.
The tension between Heather and Breckenridge builds on this long journey and their relationship ships and forms into something that they can no longer ignore. It is a sizzle that sets them on fire.
They is an engrossing tale that only builds and builds. You are breathless with anticipation and wonder at how Miss Laurens can keep you in such a state. She gives a very tempting and exciting plot with unusual circumstances that can only keep you highly entertained and breathless.
I gave this great adventure Five Stars and can't wait for her next wonder. The suspense and drama along with an electric love story of epic proportions was the best for me. She never disappoints me.
Linda Hays-Gibbs

Thursday, January 30, 2014

Title: The Capture of the Earl of Glencrae Author: Stephanie Laurens Genre: Historical Romance Review Rating: Five Stars Reviewer: Linda Hays-Gibbs At the Cavendish House in London, Angelica Rosalind Cynster spies her hero, a tall dark stranger that she insists a friend introduce her to. Her sister's have captured their loves and she knows this man is hers, but after the introduction and trip to the gardens, she hopes for a kiss, he proceeds to kidnap her, and whisk her away. She, of course, is furious but can not oppose the strength in his hands. Viscount Debenham is ecstatic for his prey just fell into his waiting arms. He sends her off in his carriage all trussed up like a prize pig and returns to the party to keep the guilt off his impeccable name. Angelica is livid by the time her chosen hero returns but he asks to explain and she listens. Being a Cynster, she forms plans of her own and even before the trip to Scotland is underway, she has an agenda. This is a funny, romantic, passionate, adventurous, gallop of a story that I fell in love with. I read it in two days and its not a light book. I loved it, could not put it down. I highly recommend this lovely story and know you will thoroughly enjoy it too. I gave it Five Stars. The characters were well developed and the plot exciting. Besides each having their own good redeeming qualities they each had their own hidden problems. The minor characters were endearing as well. The Scottish clan as a whole had their own personality and of course the Cynster clan never fails to inspire. It was a grand conclusion to the three book trilogy. I loved this story and hope to read more as exciting from Laurens shortly. I can never get enough. Linda Hays-Gibbs

Saturday, January 25, 2014

Title: In Pursuit of Eliza Cynster Author: Stephanie Laurens Genre Regency Romance Review Rating: Five Stars Reviewer: Linda Hays-Gibbs This is an exciting romantic adventure with all the bells and whistles we rely on Laurens to give her readers. Eliza is being guarded while her sister Heather and Breckenridge enjoy their betrothal ball. She is given a note to meet someone in a back parlor and her curiosity made her go. There, she is drugged and kidnapped away to Scotland by Scrope, acting for a Highland Laird. On the way to Edinburgh, she sees Jeremy Carling pass and yells for help. He is an unlikely hero because he is a scholar not a warrior, but he follows and tries to help her. Eliza is a shy lady that can't ride horses, so her rescue involves a lot of walking through the highlands to get to England. Eliza felt jealous of her sister that was rescued from the Laird by Breckenridge and they fell in love. Now she see it as a terrifying experience.She hopes Jeremy will be her hero but he never acted like a hero before. He has to find the courage within him to perform his rescue of Eliza. Eliza finds her courage and unlikely hero is just what she needed. They run and run till you and they are thoroughly exhausted. Finally they make it home but the mystery of the Laird's reasons for kidnapping, not one but two Cynster girls, is still unknown. This is an exciting, riveting, erotic tale, a super good regency romance. I give this lovely story Five Stars. The characters are explained in detail with their foibles and psychosis. They are a treat. I recommend this to all readers of regency. Linda Hays-Gibbs

Friday, January 17, 2014

Title: Rise to Power, The Chronicles of David's Life Author: Uvi Poznansky Genre: Historical Religious Fantasy Review Rating: Five Stars Reviewer: Linda Hays-Gibbs Engrossing, Perceptive, and Introspective This exceptional story opens at the end of David's life, when he is old and feeble. He is feeling he is a lunatic like Saul was. He is trying to put his life into some semblance of order and wants his legacy to be written down in his own memoirs. David is old, sick and feeling totally alone. He realizes that a crown is just a symbol of being a king and a kingdom is held by strength and powers which he thinks he has lost. Then the author takes you back to David's youth and how he felt when he first met Saul. It lets you see the insanity of Saul's reign. David is a child dodging spears from an insane King that believes David covets his throne. You hear David's thoughts as he wants to be a king and he memorizes every aspect of Saul's rule. David even chastises himself for coveting the kingdom of Saul. These are deep introspections of his whole life, goals, and motives. It us an inspiring perspective of the heart of a child. a poet, a shepard, a musician, a soldier, a fugitive, a killer and a king. It is so engrossing and and personable. A very different glimpse into what David's whole life could have felt like. His emotions, his mind and his life is laid bare. This is a refreshing viewpoint and a deeply poetic endeavor. I was inspired and captive by the author's incredible poetic license and inspired by her revelations into David's life. I enjoyed it and look forward to her future works. I gave her Five Stars for her ingenuity and introspection with exceptional probing into this iconic historical figure. It was just wonderful to see David as a person with all his trials and successes and even failures expressed so succinctly. Linda Hays-Gibbs

Wednesday, January 15, 2014

Title: Duke of a Gilded Age Author: S.G. Rogers Genre: Historical Romance Review Rating: Five Stars Reviewer: Linda Hays-Gibbs Diverting: Refreshing and Enjoyable Wesley Parker, the twelfth Duke of Mansbury is a strapping handsome young man raised in Brooklyn, NY. He has no idea how to be a Duke. His mother is Lady Frederick. Her husband was killed in an accident and they were living in abject poverty before the Eleventh Duke of Mansbury's death. Mr Oakhurst and his beautiful daughter Annabelle Oakhurst traveled to America to tell the Duke of his inheritance. They were not expecting the boy they found. Wesley was brawling on the streets of New York and the police brought him home to his mother as the Oakhurst's were having tea with his mother. Later, they embark on the journey to England and encounter icebergs and shipwrecks, along with thieves and murderers. The excitement does not end when they arrive in England. There is unrequited love, really bad fellows to fight and excellent balls and proposals. It's a feast. This is just an example of how this story sets the cadence for excitement. There is never a dull moment. We have a deep and abiding love story between Belle Oakhurst and Wesley, even though she is already engaged to Errol, and Wesley's friend Stephen is smitten with her too. The main characters are growing and evolving right on the pages of the book. The sub characters are favorites too. I especially enjoyed Cavendish, Wesley's valet, Stephen and Louise. You will enjoy this historical romance. I heartily recommend this book especially if you like this genre. I was most impressed with the ingenuity and suspense. I gave it Five Stars and believe everyone will enjoy this adventuresome tale of escapades and love. It is sure to inspire. Thank you S,G. Rogers for such a lovely book. Sincerely, Linda Hays-Gibbs

Monday, January 13, 2014

Retweet and blog it and Facebook or link it. Put it in your paper or news! I'm a finalist so don't let me down!!
#MARSocial's #Author of Year#Finalist "Angel in My Heart Devil" in My Soul" by @RoseDru63…

Saturday, January 11, 2014

Title: Miss Bennet's Naughty Secret,a scandal in Surrey Novel
Author: Sandra Sookoo
Genre: Historical Erotic Romance
Review Rating: Four Stars
Reviewer: Linda Hays-Gibbs

A Hot Merry Chase!

     This is an interesting erotic novel that uses a secret passageway as a means for a young lady to spy on a young handsome man and explore fantasies. She is called mad for her weirdness but he is called worse. It seems that Miss Elinor Bennet has painfully lost everyone she has ever loved and vows to never love, never marry, or even get close to another again for fear of this pain.
     She was traumatized and seeks gratification by her own means and without another person for they only cause pain. However; when her only close friend, from childhood moves away, she searches the secret passageways for entertainment.       A new resident moves into Surrey into her friends house. Feeling vulnerable and lonely though she won't admit it, she decides to find out about the new resident and explore the old passageways. She stumbles into the private rooms of a very handsome young man, Mr. Geoffrey Irvine Ansley. She can see him but he can't see her. She finds him in various states of undress and her imagination runs wild. Especially when she finds him in a bathtub. Her imagination gets the better of her after awhile and he hears her and discovers her secret.
     He has a problem of his birth, being born on the wrong side of the blanket and feels he would never find a woman that would accept him and never thinks of marriage.    
     After they start their affair, it gets to them and their hearts start to melt, but will she ever melt enough and does he have enough to give her. This is a very erotic and sensual story that leads you on a hot merry chase.
    It is different and delightful but I felt there should have been a little more about Geoffrey's life in America or about Miss Bennet's family disasters before her aunt and uncle.
      I did get engrossed in the story and it is my understanding that it is a series, so I may be missing some vital information that made me feel this way. If that is the case, I apologize to the author and must search for her other books.       I gave the review rating of four stars for the above reason, but I must confess it is a grand romantic fanciful story.

Linda Hays-Gibbs
The Romance Reviews