My Angel, My Light As Darkness Falls

My Angel, My Light As Darkness Falls
My Romance Books

Sunday, December 29, 2013

Title: A Romantic Ghost Story
Author: Jason W. Chan 
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Review Rating: Three Star
Reviewer: Linda Hays-Gibbs

  I wasn't scared and I really wasn't interested but that might be my problem!

This is a ghost story with demons of a kind I've never known about. 
I loved the sweetness of the love story but I didn't understand how the ghost could live and the live human had to die or was it the other way around.
    How did sex trafficking get into the ghost story and why didn't the angel's solution help? 
   I just have so many unanswered questions.
     The problems I had might not be there for the other fellow and it may be that I like a different kind of tale. I know it was a sweet tale and I read it through to the end 
I gave it three stars for effort and originality. There were some words left out or in the wrong sequence too but I can never tell if that is an error or it happens when the book is loaded.
    I wish the author good luck and would advise molre attention to detail and don't credit the reader with knowing too much. We need the details to follow.
Linda Hays-Gibbs

Dec. 29, 2013
Title: Let Love Find You
Author: Johanna Lindsey
Genre: Historical Romance
Regency Period
Reviewer: Linda Hays-Gibbs
Review Rating: Five Stars

     Lady Amanda Locke, daughter of Preston Locke the 10th Duke of Norford is in her third season on the marriage mart. She truly saw no hope her first season because of Ophelia Reid's beauty. It was clear that the men had eyes only for her. 
    It was her second season when her brother married Ophelia and they told her to have fun that was over before she knew it.  
    Now, it was her third season and she was determined not to be an old maid. Her family was ready to help her too, even to hiring a Mr. Cupid to help find her perfect match.
     Devin Baldwin is Cupid. He runs a horse farm for his aunt and uncle and started a new farm for race horses close to London. He picked up extra money and customers making matches for the marriage minded youngsters. He knows he can never be like the young aristocrats that he joins because he is a bastard, though they don't know it. His mother sent him away to her brother's horse farm when he was eight and he vows to never let himself love another woman. He had the talent for reading people though, makes excellent matches, and grows in fame for it, thus the name, Cupid.
     When Amanda meets Devin, he is so rude to her that she takes an instant dislike for him so when her sister-in-law Ophelia hires him for her Cupid she is livid.  Every time they speak he insults her again. It seems there is no way that Amanda can hate him more when she realizes she needs him to teach her to ride so she can win the man of her dreams.
       Amanda had a tragic accident when learning to ride as a child of eight. She has a fear of horses as a result. Her new beau is an avid horseman and would not want a woman that can't ride so Amanda determines she will ride with Devin's help.
   This story is so sweet and interesting. I love this type of Regency romance and this one is just my cup of tea. Johanna Lindsey never let's me down and this story is no exception. You can feel the tension building each time the star crossed lovers meet. It's delightful how Amanda keeps meeting hopeful husbands with Devin's help.
I loved all the characters from her wonderful father, Preston to Devin's friend, William Pace, and the incomparable Ophelia.
     I had no problem giving Five Stars to Johanna's lovely story and await with my mouth watering for more of her genius.
Linda Hays-Gibbs
Author: Eternal Press
Reviewer: The Romance Reviews

Friday, December 6, 2013

Title: A Perfect Lady
Author: Kimberly Née
Genre: Adult Historical Romantic Fiction 
Review Rating: Five Stars
Reviewer: Linda Hays-Gibbs

Sweet and Sexual

1791 -Island St. Kitts

     At the Sheraton's Masquerade Ball Lady Rebecca Alexander, Baron Windemere's daughter drank a little too much and ended up in the arms of an accomplished seducer, Captain James McKenzie.
     Now six weeks later Rebecca's father is trying to marry her to a Mr.Taggert, that she can not stand and she informs her father she cannot marry him because she is expecting a child and all hell breaks loose on her head.
   Later, Rebecca finds herself married and on her husband's ship, The  Siren headed toward New Brunswick, New Jersey, in America. Although she's lived in St. Kitts all her life, she is British. Her new life seems terrifying and impossible.
    This super sexy delightful romance is fraught with problems but you find yourself just knowing there will be a solution. I loved every minute and did not want it to end. It was a page turner full of surprises.
Even Rebecca's maid, Agnes Bertrand was full of surprises. 
     Rebecca is shy and retiring, blushes crimson and yet is totally sensual.
Of course, she is a beauty even if she is unaware of the fact and the Captain is a handsome devil that can be very kind despite himself. 
   You fall in love with both of them and worry about their many problems with them. 
     It is a most entertaining Regency romance with pitfalls and solutions. I give this delight Five Stars and wish I had Six to give. I would read it again and I never read books the second time, well, only once with Johanna Lindsey's book, "The Rebel" but I think Kimberly Nee could give her competition.
I loved this book!
Linda Hays-Gibbs

Monday, December 2, 2013

Title: Misfortune's Lady
Author: Sandra Sookoo
Genre: Romance Historical Ménage  Erotica
Review Rating: Four Stars
Reviewer: Linda Hays-Gibbs

Sex and Sensuality

     Mr. John Goddard fell in love with Miranda Ellis Mason Craythorne years ago but had to return to his job as a Bow Street Runner before he could secure their love. She married his best friend after he left and he waited for her to be single again but she remarried too quickly again.
     Miranda fell for John at their last meeting years ago but remarried hurriedly when he left her for his job.         He didn't come to her when she again became a widow and she remarried again still thinking about him.      After years of wondering what it would be like to be with him, he finally shows up at her request. She thought to match him with her cousin but when she sees him she sees her feelings are still engaged with him.
     Richard Howick is a friend of John's that knows all about John's infatuation with the red tipped golden haired widow. He's heard about John's great love for her and fell in love with her from John's ravings of her.
    The problem is they both want her. They devise a plan whereby they can both have her. The next problem is to convince her of their solution.
     This story is supposed to take place in Regency England and although the author gives you an explanation that she used poetic license with her work in this time frame it is still hard for me to believe this setting. I love Regency romance and read the paranormal but the promiscuousness in this time frame is just hard to believe. 
     I realize that the society throws them out and she has nosy neighbors and a rotten butler but it just felt like more humorous than real. I did enjoy the characters but I love a story I can believe even if it has vampires or shapeshifters but the ménage just didn't feel right to me.
     I wanted it to have more plot and the substance of the other characters to have more flesh. They just seemed unreal.
   However, the story was entertaining and the main characters had their own personalities. You found yourself rooting for John and then for Richard. Miranda was just very wishy washy. She just couldn't make up her mind for trying. 
    I detested the butler and her neighbors but they were comical. I digress.
    The long and the short is this: It was an interesting read but essentially not of Regency fabric. The effect was lost on me. 
   I gave the author Four Stars for an interesting sexual stomp through a historical period. As I said before sexual and sensual erotic stomp. The author had a new way to define Regency that I never thought of before. I'm sure some will find it totally tittalating!
Linda Hays-Gibbs

Sent from my iPhone

Friday, November 29, 2013

If you love The Scottish Highlands and Romance, you will love
the new Best Selling Romance, The Magic of Ros Amber a Christmas
Holiday series. On sale now on Amazon!

Regency Christmas Romance, fairies,
 Dagda, ancient Celtic God with a Magical harp in Highland intrigue

   Lady Ros Amber Sinclair has never been loved or loved anyone.  Her life was void of the nicer feelings.  She determined to serve her country and do whatever it would take to stop Napoleon.  She has estates, money and looks so why would she need love.
  Declan MacDonald’s family is cursed. The men marry but never love.  It is something that he has accepted.  He knows he will never love a woman so he is determined to serve his country as a spy.  He will do whatever it takes, lie, steal, or kill to preserve Scotland.
   Declan is sent to kill the woman spy that is working with Napoleon.  He never thought he would kill a woman but for his country he would.  
   “Sometimes there is magic, sometimes it is necessary and sometimes it is love.”
 He pulled her into his embrace but she was not close enough so he held her tighter and claimed her lips with a savage kiss that took her breath away.
May Dagda’s harp play for you someday and give you ecstasy.

Saturday, November 23, 2013

Title: No Gentleman is He
Authors: Carley Bauer and Lynette Willows
Genre: Historical Fiction Romance
Review Rating: Four Stars
Reviewer: Linda Hays-Gibbs
Exciting and Entertaining

     Cassandra Courtney Brooks is an Aristocratic English Lady, who eloped with Seth Brooks, a stable hand  into the new American colonies. Shortly upon their arrival in 1775 Virginia, Seth dies. To survive Cassandra works at a tavern where she can also stable the horses they were breeding before Seth's death. She was a very exceptional woman for that time period to be surviving alone especially for a gently bred lady.
 Casey is also a determined woman with exceptional horse flesh and breeding plans. A mare of hers is folding and in danger of dying.  She confides her problem while waiting on two customers. These two customers, Jackson Lee and Colton Rolfe offer to help her mare fold.
     Colton Rolfe is a man of infinite passions. He is part Native American and treated poorly by his father and stepmother after his mom died. Despite this life that hardened Colton he is a determined horse breeder and rich man as the owner of Varina Farms. He sees the superior horse flesh in Cassandra's horse while helping the birth of her colt. He covets her horse and already feels a desire for Cassandra.
     Jackson Lee, a close friend and competitor of Colton, owns another horse ranch but has more refined horses. He also recognizes Cassandra's exceptional horse flesh. He witnesses that Colton and Cassandra are already drawn to each other.  He thinks it grand for he worried his friend would never find anyone to manage his terrible temper and rudeness.
     Colton offers Cassandra a position on his ranch as steward and housekeeper. It is a grand place for her horses that he plans to keep. He thinks she will fail, give up and leave her horses with him when she returns to England. He doesn't realize what a remarkable woman she is.
     Cassandra surprises everyone with her intelligence, strength and integrity. She is stubborn and determined. She finds abuses by his past steward and saves Colton money and horses.
    The American revolution is getting underway. Jackson and Colton were discussing new intelligence. Their plans were overheard by Cassandra so they fear her an English spy. They take her with them to Concord. Along the way Colton falls more and more in love with Cassandra.
    It is a love hate relationship with a fire so intense you can feel the heat of it coming off the page. I was very impressed by the weave of history in this most erotic love story. The first battle with the British was accurate and so interesting you felt the urgency. 
    The characters were in four dimensions. You could feel the pull between the main characters and you felt for their problems. 
Their personalities were firmly set in your mind and you flowed with them through their troubles. 
     I really enjoyed this historical fiction and the romance between Colton and Cassandra that's was so  heated and erotic. It fairly sizzled. I gave it Four Stars with an A plus on the side.
    Just a note to the authors, I had a little problem with historical accuracy. I think the Waltz was not done in America until around 1812 to 1815 when it was introduced to Regency England and Almacks.
       Also the wilderness of Virginia was referred to as 'The Bush' on one occasion. I believe that term is from Australia and not used in America. The wilderness is simply, the forest, wilds or wilderness.  I have never heard that used in North America. 
     The rest of the history involved in the book is very accurate and so interesting I felt compelled to tell of those two inaccuracies in hopes that they could be corrected. That was not intended to say that I didn't totally and happily enjoy this wonderful book. I highly recommend this wonderful tale and applaud both authors for their hard  and ingenious work. I look forward to more in the future.
Linda Hays-Gibbs

Monday, November 18, 2013

Title: Scandal's Heiress Author: Amelia Smith Genre: Romantic Historical Fiction Review Rating: Five Stars Reviewer: Linda Hays-Gibbs Romantic and Endearing Sir Thomas Smithson Pently returns home to England from India to reluctantly assume his position in society after his brother's death. His father is on his deathbed too and the situation is dire. Thomas left over ten years ago with bad blood between them. The only reason he decides to heed the call home is the recent death of his love. Hyacinth Grey lives in Gibraltar with her widowed father, Captain Grey and her brother, George. She takes on the roll of mother and governess to George. George is actually illegitimate but Hyacinth doesn't care. Her father gets word that Hyacinth inherited all if her improper grandmother's properties and assets. He wants his daughter to have a proper introduction to society. His sister, Lady Talbot lives in London and will see to her nieces presentation so he decides to send her to London. He decides his son can go to a school there too. Maria, Hyacinth's maid will be their chaperone. Thomas and Hyacinth are sent on the same ship. Her father cant accompany her and he warns her away from Thomas but the trip takes longer than anticipated and they are thrown into each other's company. She is determined to not like him but she finds herself indebted to him and drawn to him. It was such a romantic and inspiring story. You really feel like you know these two characters before the book ends. They become very real and alive to you and you are so hopeful for their futures. I could not put the book down after a few pages, as I was hooked. The descriptions were breath taking at times like when Thomas dives into the water after George. The waves were frightening in a fierce storm at sea but swimming in them was almost impossible. Thomas and George were in horrendous danger and you felt it. I am a Regency nut and I love all things of this period and these two characters are now on my list. I truly loved them. I give this superb story Five Stars and wish I could give it Six. It is excellent. I recommend it to all who want good clean Regency. Thank you Amelia. Linda Hays-Gibbs

Tuesday, November 12, 2013

Regal Regency Revisited Linda Hays-Gibbs [ 11/10/13 22:02 ] Title: Lady Eleanor's Secret Author: Fenella J. Miller Requested By: Dominique Eastwick Review Rating: Five Stars Reviewer: Linda Hays-Gibbs Regency Revisited Lady Eleanor tends her nephews and niece like a hired governess because her brother Edward Tarrington wants to keep her fortune to himself. He keeps her mistreated and unmarried. He has the unruly temper and evil maniacal plan to even do away with her so he can keep her dowry. She has lost all hope and dreams but devotes herself to playing with his children. Lord Alex Bentley is grieving for his wife Anne for over four years. His mistress begs him to find a wife at least to care for his three poor children; left alone and unloved all these years. He decides to look around for a suitable wife that he can marry to take care of his children and country home without making any demands on his person. He sees a skinny homely young woman playing with four children and is drawn to her. She would be the kind of biddable woman he needed. He decides to watch her and see if she would do for his needs. On further examination he finds this woman has many sides and he is decidedly interested in pursuing her when something very unexpected happens. He is assaulted by her and rendered unconscious. She is so frightened she is speechless. This leads to much misunderstanding. This is a wonderful Regency problem that any number of people of that time could find themselves. In these circumstances a woman had few choices open to her. It was a rigid time for women. I enjoyed the mystery, the intrigue and love story. I am delighted to give this wonderful piece Five Stars. I loved the ending. I was on the edge of my seat till the very end. Thank you for a charming and delightful read. Linda Hays-Gibbs

Sunday, November 3, 2013

Title: To Steal a Highlander's Heart Author: Samantha Holt Genre: Historical Romance Adult Fantasy Reviewer: Linda Hays-Gibbs Reviewer Rating: Five Stars Endearing and Magical Morgann McRae is a young Highland Laird but he is combating a fierce witch named Margot. Margot bewitched his father into marriage after his mother's death. She then turns to poisoning him and trying to seduce Dougall Campbell to her bed and gain the land and wealth of both Clans. She is a beautiful and evil woman. Morgann tries to get back his mother's ring Margot stole and gave to Dougall and is branded a thief, literally. Morgann was raised around Alana Campbell, Dougall's daughter and always hoped she would be his wife one day but with war between their clans there is no hope. There is magic for the couple in the form of a fairy named Teile. She is determined to help the young Laird and Lady. After eight years of war there seems to be no end to the hate and bloodshed until Morgann finds Alana outside her castle one day and kidnaps her. He believes he can now reason with her father since he holds his daughter captive but finds out he is the one that is captive. This is a magical love story with characters who melt your heart and keep excitement on every page. It was a sweet endearing tale. I give it Five Stars and can't wait for the next book in the series. Great fun and good reading. Linda Hays-Gibbs
Title: The Second Son Author: Vonnie Hughes Review Rating: Five Stars Reviewer: Linda Hays-Gibbs The Second Son is Regency at its best. The characters are deep and fully fleshed. I loved the disillusionment John suffers with his life. He must overcome self pity and find his own way in a hard life, as a second son that will never have what his older brother has. He grows with the story. His return home after the brutalities if war have left him scarred too. Marguerite has a handicap and must overcome her impediments and find her way too. Her struggle is palpable and unique. It is made even more terrible when John admonishes her against her self pity. It seems that their hearts have suffered enough when their attraction draws them into unchartered waters. Just when you think you have the story figured out it bursts into a different delima. It was inspiring and endearing. I must read her other books. This one was a wonderful delight I shall cherish. I gave this ingenious author five stars for a perfect regency escape. Linda Hays-Gibbs

Sunday, October 20, 2013

Title: The Viscount's Vow Author: Collette Cameron Genre: Historical Erotic Romance Review Rating: Five Stars Reviewer: Linda Hays-Gibbs Sizzling Romantic Fantasy Ian Warrick, the new Viscount Warrick has just lost his father, Roger and brother, Geoff and the woman to blame is, a harlot in London enjoying the season with balls and entertainments. He sets out with a plan instigated by his stepmother, Lucinda and sister, Charlotte for vengeance. He decides he will ruin this woman in the eyes of the ton. This is his vow and his anger is set. He finds her with a cluster of men, who all call her a strumpet or worse behind her back while begging for her favors. He asks her to dance after a quick introduction from his Aunt Edith. He finds on closer inspection that she is truly very beautiful and enticing to hold and wavers a little in his determination. Evangeline Caruthers or Vangie is finding her debut exciting; except she keeps getting improper proposals. She has no idea why this is happening to her but is just so grateful her Uncle Gideon took her away from Uncle Percival and Aunt Eugenia for any length of time. Aunt Adelaide and Uncle Gideon make her quite happy; while the prior make her life a misery. She never complains about any of the abuse though. While Vangie and Ion are dancing; Vangie has another headache and finds it hard to breathe her stays are so tight so she passes out in his arms on the terrace. He carries her to a retiring room trying to avoid embarrassment. Ion finds she is tuning blue and he can find no help so he loosens her stays. When finally discovered, she is in disabile and he's got his cravat off and shirt unbuttoned, so tongues start wagging. He must now marry her or see her truly ruined. He finds he does not want to ruin her, so what of his revenge and his plan? An interesting turn of events is how Vangie's Romani blood plays a part in her life. She even runs away to her relatives at one point. They are much kinder than her English ones. Such a sexy love story with all the Regency flair and bells and whistles. The characters are scrumptious and you will fall in love with them. The descriptive elements bring the page to life. Vangie has her own problems and does not need anyone to teach her lessons. She is charming with all her flaws and she shows how to bring innocence into maturity and strength with honor into quiet courage. Ian thinks he knows everything as any classic male, but he is brought low by his ignorance. It really sizzles so it's not for the feint if heart but a grand read if you want sexy romance in a regency style. I recommend it to one and all. I give it Five Stars! Linda Hays-Gibbs

Thursday, October 10, 2013

The 50% off coupon is 31Halloween2013 at checkout.

Thursday, October 3, 2013

Title: Married at Midnight Author: Arabella Sheraton Genre: Historical Regency Romance Review Rating: Five Stars Reviewer: Linda Hays-Gibbs Julian Edward George St. John Trevallon, the twelfth Earl of Pennington has an estate in need of funds but does not want to marry. He is determined to find a solution to restore Penrose and his estates that his idiot older brother, Blevin paupered by gambling before he died. He has a great uncle, Sir Oswald Barton, that left a very peculiar will. He must marry by midnight of his thirtieth birthday to inherit a fortune or remain poor. If he marries at the time specified in six months after the marriage; he inherits $250,000 pounds. It is now six days till his birthday. He is traveling when he almost runs over a dark clad figure with red hair. He stops to find a woman on the road and takes her to Pemrose to see to her injuries. The doctor informs him that she was attacked. Roxanne Chesney has just lost her father, Horace and been forced to marry a horrible nan, Edgar Doyle that tries to rape her, but she smacks him over the head and runs away. Suddenly, she finds herself in the home of Julian and he proposes that she marry him and he will give her $25,000 just until the six months are up. Then she can leave and no harm done. This is a delightful experience of regency love and the problems of a young girl in this era. It winds its way into your heart and mind. I love regency and I loved this story. The problems that Roxanne had to overcome we're extensive and the twists and turns of the story kept me turning pages and worrying over her. I could read stories like this every night. Kudos to Arabella Sheraton again for a job well done. Thank you for a wonderful read. You understood your characters personalities and gave them flesh and bones. The ending was a marvelous surprise and the other characters had you routing for them too except for, nasty Mister Doyle. This lovely tale gets Five Stars for regency elegance and heart throbbing excitement. Excitedly more of this author's books will grace my library and yours soon. Linda Hays-Gibbs

Saturday, September 28, 2013

Title: Dangerous Duke Author: Arabella Sheraton Genre: Regency Romance Review Rating:Five Stars Reviewer: Linda Hays-Gibbs The Sixteenth Duke of Wyndlesham, Devlin Deveril, is The Dangerous Duke. He is arrogant, self-centered and bullying. He has a mistress, Penelope Vane; that is vicious and underhanded. She plans to trap the Duke into marriage with her. Fenella Preston applies for the position of companion to the Dowager Duchess. Her Aunt convinces her to use her name of Preston although her real name is Hawke. This is because her father committed suicide. Fenella is beautiful and the Duke is extremely handsome. Every time they are alone the sparks fly but, Fenella is convinced she will only be used by the Duke since her lowly social status would make it impossible for a marriage. The other problem is Penelope; who is so jealous, that she tries to hurt her in every way. Fenella wins all of the Duke's servants. Everyone loves Fenella but Fenella is no fool; despite her naïveté. She must leave and make her way somewhere else. The ending made me laugh and cry. It was delightful and I refuse to tell it all. This is a must read for Regency fans. The characters are fleshed and so convincing. The plot is very romantic and quite believable. I really enjoyed reading it. I give it Five Stars. Linda Hays-Gibbs

Saturday, September 14, 2013

Linda Hays-Gibbs [ 9/14/13 03:30 ] Title: The Second Son Author: Vonnie Hughes Review Rating: Five Stars Reviewer: Linda Hays-Gibbs The Second Son is Regency at its best. The characters are deep and fully fleshed. I loved the disillusionment John suffers with his life. He must overcome self pity and find his own way in a hard life, as a second son that will never have what his older brother has. He grows with the story. His return home after the brutalities if war have left him scarred too. Marguerite has a handicap and must overcome her impediments and find her way too. Her struggle is palpable and unique. It is made even more terrible when John admonishes her against her self pity. It seems that their hearts have suffered enough when their attraction draws them into unchartered waters. Just when you think you have the story figured out it bursts into a different delima. It was inspiring and endearing. I must read her other books. This one was a wonderful delight I shall cherish. I gave this ingenious author five stars for a perfect regency escape. Linda Hays-Gibbs

Thursday, August 29, 2013

Angel in My Heart, Devil in My Soul Linda Hays-Gibbs Reviewed by Sherri M Posted February 2, 2013 Paranormal Historical John Monroe was kidnapped at eight years old by the Devil himself. He was raised without love or affection. Tortured and stripped of his humanity, he was taught evil as a way of life. He obeyed orders from the Devil thoughtlessly. He was the Devil's perfect assassin. John's soul was black and owned by the Devil himself. When John is sent on another mission with no thoughts other than to kill his next victim, he finds Rachel. Rachel is pure innocence, a golden soul. She is Nephilim, half human, half angel. She has been sheltered from the world her entire life. When her grandmother dies, her uncle, who Rachel believes to be evil with greed, will become her guardian, she decides to set out on her own. John finally catches up with Rachel at an inn as she falls down the steps and bumps her head. She can't remember who she is or what she is. John seizes this opportunity and uses it to his advantage. He is entranced by Rachel. She is everything that he never had in his life. He wants to own bed her. When Rachel regains her memory of who and what she is, will she still love John or will he loose her forever? Linda Hays-Gibbs brings readers though another inspirational tale of Good vs. Evil. Her characters are able to grow their relationship based on trust, forgiveness, and of course love. Learn more about Angel in My Heart, Devil in My Soul SUMMARY An Angel ignites passion in his heart but can this black Soul ever really love her? John Monroe had done unspeakable evil in his miserable life. He thought nothing of the order to kill this woman until his eyes feasted on her beauty. He was stunned by his reaction to her. Rachael dared to dream of a love, nothing could stop. She had to find out if the man in her dreams was real. She would learn to control her strange powers. Sensing evil with her five senses was a curse she lived with until she fell and lost her memory and her heart.

Thursday, August 22, 2013

Title: Pirate Barbarian Author: Tasha Temple Review Rating: Five Stars Reviewer: Linda Hays-Gibbs Hot...Hot...Sizzling Hot exciting adult adventure! Want to go pillaging, pirating, cavorting and fall in love with a dangerous steely, bigger than life, virile male pirate with beauty, muscles, gorgeous green eyes, and ruthless courage? Well then, this is the book for you! Would you rather find a beautiful blue eyed, chestnut haired, brave warm woman to carry off on an adventure? Kai is from the islands and all he knows is pirating and unfeeling glory. He's smart and very dangerous and he's never been broken by love until he meets Miss Jolene Winston, an English lady with her new fiancée, Raul on her way to be married. Incidentally, Raul was turning out to be a mean hearted bully who hurts Jolene. Kai captures Raul's ship and her and carries her off on an adventure into paranormal perplexities she could never imagine. Raul scuttles off into the night. Jolene thinks she will be murdered and stands up to this frightful beast of a pirate. No one ever stood up to him so Kai is intrigued by this little spitfire. Their chemistry is raging, hot, lustful, unforgiving and not for the feint of heart, so, if you want an erotic jaunt into historical fantasy; this will fulfill your dreams and more. There are a few spelling or typos but the book was burning my fingers it was so hot, so I failed to notice. Seriously, I thought it great fun and want to read more from Tashe Temple in the future. I gave her Five sizzling stars. Great job! Linda Hays-Gibbs

Thursday, August 15, 2013

Title: An Irish Rose Author: Erin Moira O'Hara Review Rating: Five Stars Reviewer: Linda Hays-Gibbs This story takes place in 1959 in Dun Laoghaire, Ireland; when 28 year old virgin, Claire Nugent decides to travel to Australia to be in her sister's wedding She is supposed to marry a 40 year old man or become a nun, but she has dreams no one knows about. Her dreams of falling in love are never to be if she stays in Ireland. Claire decides her only hope is this trip. She finds one man that drives her insane and won't leave her alone. He is at every dance she attends and acts so possessive. Daniel Hunter decides on his beautiful Irish rose but there is only one problem; she hates him. He has tried everything he knows to claim her heart but she refuses him. Will Daniel suffer in vain? Will Claire become a nun or return to her home and marry an old man? Or will she fall in love in Australia? What a lovely romantic story with the Irish accents in the dialogue and the Australian or Aussy coming out in Daniel's slant. The descriptive elements are resourceful. I must say, It was totally delightful. Regretfully, I wanted more from this author. It was just a little too short but a great romantic fantasy. The dialogue was expressive and interesting. The characters stayed in their personalities and were very strong in so short a tale. I do look forward to more of this author's work. I give her Five Stars for a wonderful romantic tale. Li nda Hays-Gibbs

Monday, July 29, 2013

Title: Memory of an Immortal Heart Author: Kita Bell Review Rating: Four Stars Reviewer: Linda Hays-Gibbs Brand Kade is an immortal Kaspian shapeshifter, blood tiger from the Stronghold Gens. He can heal and take away bad memories. An Amati is a love bond for life. In 1315 he took away the horrible memories if his brother Khael's Amati from Khael to keep him from killing himself when she died. The memories of his brother rend Brand's soul, making him yearn for his Amati and fear her too. He suffers and feels guilty for his brother's pain. One night he discovers a naked woman in a snow bank with a blood stained Sakai standing over her and written in her blood the message, "Take her and Run." Brand was tracking Sakai with his cousin, Joshua and and recognizes the blood sucking Sakai are hot on their trail so they grab Eva Turner, a blood tiger too and run. When Brand touches her he knows she is his Amati. He is scared to death of losing her but won't tell her anything. She recovers and becomes his lover but is held back by his secrecy. She doesn't trust him. Brand is a long-suffering powerful male with too much ego and guilt. Eva is a long-suffering female that blames herself for everything, even stuff beyond her control. They clearly love each other but can't seem to understand each other. Brand has several siblings at his stronghold that want to question her about the tortuous female Rohe, who captured her and bled her with knives in an asylum she escaped from with the Sakai. Eva is worried about her sister Rainey and wants to go home but Brand talks her into going to the Stronghold to help with their investigations. He assures her that he will take her home if she helps them. He has no intention of letting her go. She had no intention of staying. I loved the bruised egos of these people. The characters were heartwarming creatures that wormed their way into your good graces. I found myself upset with their stubbornness to not let go of their preconceived ideas. This was a book with a different kind of fantasy. I really enjoyed the writing. There were some words out of place and a few errors but it was a really interesting concept once I familiarized myself enough with this type of tale. It was all a new type of fantasy for me. I gave it Four Stars out of Five for a very interesting read. I realize it is a series and look forward to more of this author 's talented imagination. She needs to reedit a little for a perfect and captivating read. Sincerely, Linda Hays-Gibbs

Tuesday, July 23, 2013

Title: The Knowledge of Good and Evil Author: Micah Persell Review Rating: Four Stars Reviewer: Linda Hays-Gibbs Recently the Garden of Eden is discovered and beside it the Tree of Life and the Tree of Knowledge of Good and Evil. The people that discovered it are asked to eat the fruit of the trees. Jericho is an immortal because he ate of the fruit of The Tree of Life and Knowledge of Good and evil. He can tell by touch if someone is good or evil and he can't be killed. He lives with the others like himself in a lab where he is experimented on. His friend and boss is Erin and he sends Jericho after a killer. Dahlia is the killer and an immortal too. She escapes and wrecks everything to get out. Jericho follows to bring her back but in the process he is told by an anonymous voice that "She is the one." His other mate died years ago and he thought he would be alone forever since he couldn't die. Now his life has new meaning but when he touches Dahlia he is told she is evil. He is devastated but continues on his mission to bring his new mate back to the compound and her jail. She out maneuvers him at every turn and the pain of not acknowledging their attraction weighs heavy on both of them. He is about to go crazy with wanting her when he discovers her secret. He is amazed. I will not give you all the spoilers but tell you Dahlia has a good reason for running. I give this action packed sexually charged story a definite thumbs up and rate it with Four Stars. I would have given it Five, but it just ended too abruptly. I wanted more and I believe there is more. The author has a series going but make every story end without being so cliff dropping. I was left gasping for breath and searching for more pages. It's a great story though, and I'm glad I took the read. I can't wait to hear more.

Saturday, July 13, 2013

Title: "Human No Longer" A Vampire Novel Author: Kathryn Meyer Griffith Review Rating: Five Stars Genre: Horror Paranormal Fantasy Reviewer: Linda Hays-Gibbs This vibrant shocking story starts in St. Louis, Missouri on a sultry night in August, as a deeply in love married couple try to celebrate a twelve year anniversary of their wedding. They are brutally attacked. Jeff Sanders dies from the attack but Jenny Sanders awakes two weeks later from her coma and into a different world, as an alien life form. Jenny was in shock and her brother Joey's suggestion she move back home and live in their old farmhouse was her only bleak alternative. However; Jenny, long ago past published author was still changing and trying to cope with the monster she had become. She had two children to raise, protect and provide for and no skills or money and no book published in years. She soon realized she had no choice but to take her brother's generous offer and move to Florida to make a new life. The terrorizing realization that she was a real vampire was hard to accept. She fought it and all the violent urges and a terrible thirst for blood. She fed on small animals and hated what she had become fearing for the safety of her very own children and loved ones. Her story just starts to level out when more vampires come into the picture terrorizing everyone and killing. They are seven feet tall and have super powers. They are the monsters you fear in the night and Jenny is becoming one with them. I will not give away more of the plot but must advise that you will never guess the ending. It is a fast paced, traumatizing, heart racing, powerful horror tale with new and exciting twists. It had me holding my breath for the safety of some and agonizing over the horrific events facing Jenny. If you would like a startling new way to look at vampires, you will thoroughly enjoy this thrilling fantasy. I fell in love with Jenny. Her determination, courage, steadfast love, stubborn will and fortitude in the face of her agonizing metamorphosis makes her a great heroine. I must say I detested her circumstances as I agonized and worried for her. Her brother, Joey's devotion, kindness and love for his sister and her children make him a hero and wonderful man. Love blossoms for Jenny too from Joey's friend Andy a sweet heartthrob of a guy. Many of the character's personalities make for endearing never flat creations. The children's unwavering love for their mother captivated my heart and did rend my soul. The scraggly lost kitten that almost talks is very heartwarming. Even the ghosts help to fill out this haunting horror tale and there is more, much more. I give it Five Stars for a page turning beauty of a vampire horror tale. I look forward to other mouth-watering vampire tales from Kathryn Meyer Griffith Sincerely, Linda Hays-Gibbs The Romance Reviews reviewer and independent reviewer

Thursday, July 4, 2013



Review Highlander's Hope

Title: Highlander's Hope Author: Collette Cameron Review Rating: Five Stars Genre: Historical Romance Fantasy 1817 Yvette Alexandra Clarisse Stapleton is on the run, escaping a stepbrother bent on making her his wife. Edgar is obsessed with kidnapping Yvette. Yvette runs from America to England to escape but he follows her. She is running away from men when rescued by Laird Ewan McTavish, Viscount Sethwick, a spy and covert agent of the regent. Her dire circumstances make it necessary to protect her and take her to her relatives. Ewan suspects her and her stepbrother if being linked to a traitor that is killing agents like flies. It is urgent that this man be revealed and imprisoned. More than this though is Ewan's desire for Yvette. This is a merry chase of an action packed exciting escape into a lively enjoyable romance. I loved the story, the beautiful descriptive prose and the intriguing tale. The characters had distinctive personalities that grew flesh and bone. Yvette was smart and endearing even if naive and biased against men seeking her immense fortune. She was determined to only marry for love when all around her only saw her wealth never her beauty. Ewan was determined to capture the elusive traitor but he wanted Yvette. He determined to protect her and try and win her heart. They are surrounded by characters that make an impression from Mrs. Pettigrove, her wagging tongue and obnoxious behavior to the maid that refused to ride in the carriage; all are made unique. I found all of Ewan's Scottish relatives and Yette's English relatives superbly interesting too. Sensual in his seduction of Yvette; Ewan never let up the action for moment. I could not stop turning the pages in anticipation of the next excitement. I heartily recommend this book to romantic readers and adventurous ones too. I rate it Five Stars but wish I could make it more. It is a wonderful book. Eternal Press And TRR Sincerely Linda Hays-Gibbs Author and Reviewer

Sunday, June 30, 2013

STAND UP!!! I am an American! My greatgreatgreatgreat grandpa fought in the American revolution.His son fought in the War of 1812. I had one greatgreatgreat grandpa on the Union side of the Civil War and one on the Confederate side. Their grandsons fought in WW1 and their sons in WW2 including my father and Four if his brothers. My brother-in-law was in the Korean War and the Cuban crisis. My husband fought in Vietnam Nam twice. Daniel Boone is one of my great grandfathers and he opened the trail to the West. One of my grandfathers and two if my grandmothers were Native Americans. It's time to stand up for being an American people and not just because its the 4th of July and you get a holiday. It's time to protect our Constitutional Rights from these so called politicians in Washington. It's time to watch the votes and laws being passed in our names that take away our rights and freedoms. It's time to Stand Up!!! My grand pappy said, "You got to stand for something or you will fall for anything." STAND UP!!!

Saturday, June 29, 2013

Free ebooks 4th of July Madness July 3rd &4th (6) books free for two days

Thursday, June 27, 2013

Okay voting ends June 30th so you still have time to vote for me by commenting

Saturday, June 8, 2013

Title: The Count's Last Mistress
Author:  Bess Greenfield
Review Rating: Five +Stars
Reviewer: Linda Hays-Gibbs
Genre:Historical Romantic Fantasy in Paris 1871
Passionate Sparks: an Endearing Romantic Jaunt

     Olivier Valencourt, the conte de Chaumenay has a letter to deliver to his dead brother's lover. He is grieving and in pain from war injuries.The problem is he finds another woman living in her house raising the son of his brother, Etienne and his lover, Claudine Ardaunt. He is convinced she is a madwoman. She does nothing but lie to him.
     Jeanne Delancy is using the name Jeanne Henri. She is such a close friend to Claudine that she entrusted her with the care of her young son Alex. Claudine's lover, Etienne broke her heart when he left her.  She thinks this man is Claudine's lover because his name is Valencourt. She tells the stranger that Alex is her son and sends him away but she is worried he can see the boy is his because he looks so much like him. Olivier decides to follow her to see if she will lead him to Claudine. She is so beautiful that he can't control his thoughts and finds he is worried she is a low woman. He decides he needs to get Alex away from poverty and this horrible woman that frequents bars drawing pictures. She is poor and evidently selling her favors, which he would love to sample himself. He also sees he needs to ease the boy away from her gently.
     Olivier makes a plan to offer her employment as an artist to decorate his home. He must also see where their attraction leads. He convinces her that she can't turn down the money.
Then he convinces her to bring Alex,  her friend, Sylvie Barnett and her son Leo to chaperone and keep his lusts under control.
      The trip is a great adventure for the boys and Jeanne can't refuse the money because they were hungry.  She finds that she is attracted to this rich aristocrat but she is an American hiding from her parents. They thought her crazy and wanted to institutionalize her. She is very afraid.
    She must keep Alex safe for Claudine's return. She still pretends to be Alex's mom so Olivier can't take him away from her care. She realizes he knows he has a better claim on the boy. She remains completely loyal to her friend throughout.
      Her poverty is so evident when she sees where Olivier lives that she realizes Alex might be better off with his own family, even though she loves the boy more than she cares to admit. She realizes Claudine might be dead.  Alex has become her family and  loves her too but misses his mom.
    This is such a sweet story of love and the personalities of these characters develop before your eyes. They become real to you and you do not want the story to end. They have flaws and fears but they overcome so much in a very turbulent time in France.
     I will not give any more of the story away but there is so much more. The supporting characters grow too so there are several stories within the story. I was amazed and hope there is another to follow this one soon.
     I gave the story Five Plus because it captivated me from the first page. The love scenes are so passionate and real. I also liked the fact that the hero was such a manly man. His story was just as tragic as Jeanne's but they outgrew the depression and despair to find their hopes and dreams. Great job Bess Greenfield for a story worth reading.
Linda Hays-Gibbs

Wednesday, June 5, 2013

Title:  Daring the Highlander
The Legacy of MacLeod
Author: Laurin Wittig
Review Rating:Five+Stars
Reviewer:  Linda Hays-Gibbs
Genre: Romantic Fantasy With a Historical setting
Exciting Romantic Adventure
     This Highland tale has lots of intrigue and suspense. You never know how it is going to end until the last minute.
    I was enthralled by the mystery and romance too. Ailig MacLeod is in a dire situation as the unfavored youngest son of Neill MacLeod the Chief. Ailig is ordered by King Robert, the Bruce to take over the reins of Chiefdom from his father. Since his father seems to despise him anyway, the news his beloved heir is dead and Alig's two other brothers are put into military service at the King's order is a but much for him. He will not concede to Ailig.  Ailig has a clan to protect in spite of his father. If he doesn't take over, the clan will be killed and forfeit all property.
     His father and clan fight him. He even has the MacDonells in house to placate. His sister ran off rather than marry their chief. They feel they are owed a bride. 
   Ailig has two friends a mercenary, Skaeth and Tamas. He has to fight his own clan champion Baltair.
     Morainn is the widow Ailig meets upon his return with his horrible news about his brothers. She is beautiful and there is an immediate attraction. She has sworn to never marry again because she was used so horribly. It was not a happy marriage and she doesn't want that pain again. It is hard for her to fight her attraction to Ailig though. He cares for the clan and her no matter what happens. He is so different from his brothers and from her dead husband.
She finds that she can deny him nothing. He is always only trying to protect the clan.
     There are a lot of twists and turns but the one constant is Ailig. He never falters in trying to protect and care for others.
     It is a spectacular Highland romance filled with suspense and intrigue. The clan chief must be quite a brave and resilient man. He needs strength, brains and diplomacy.
      Laurin gives you a glimpse into this historical period with its austere lifestyle  and makes it ever so enjoyable to read.
      I give it Five Stars with a plus and await more of these ever so exciting tales of Highlander life and love.
Linda Hays-Gibbs

Saturday, June 1, 2013

In many areas of our nation they need help Okla/Mo/ tornadoes Plz
Generosity and love is what they need and volunteers along with Prayer. Show you care!

     I know the Red Cross could take donations. We must stick together, as a Nation helping where it is needed. The government of this Nation was never meant to pay for everything. It can only do so much and the rest is up to us. 
    We did not start a Free nation to become socialistic and feudal like Europe. We started a country where we can do what we want with our lives without interference. How can we have that if we just take and take? We must give too. John F Kennedy said "Ask not what your country can do for you, but what you can do for your country?"

Title: My Highland Lord
Highland Lords Series
Author: Tarah Scott
Review Rating: Five Stars
Reviewer: Linda Hays-Gibbs
   Lord Ashlund,  Kiernan MacGregor kidnaps Phebe Wallington, Lord Albery's niece mistaking her for his friend's mistress, Lady Heddy Ballingham. He is only trying to heal a lover's quarrel for a friend.
     Phebe is outraged for she is trying to clear her father of treason.  She is working as a British spy with this goal in mind and this lunatic, highwayman Lord has kidnapped her and took her off to Scotland.
    There seems to be others trying to kidnap her too and a fierce gun battle and flight to safety ensue.     
     Phebe injures herself trying to jump out of the moving carriage. She finds herself being cared for by this handsome highwayman. Needless to say sparks fly for he is a sexy hot man.
     This is a hilarious and an intriguing adventure in which all kinds of mysteries and romance surround our heroine. It is fast paced and energetic. I loved all the characters. The body guard/butler Mathers and the endearing Uncle Albery, just to name a few.     
    The witty dialect is great fun.  It is highly descriptive with loads of satirical come backs and funny lines.
The whole story is very descriptive and you feel like you are with them along for the ride.
     I must admit to one thing I found a little aggravating.There were some typos or mistakes in word reversals or word omissions but I think that was done in formatting. I don't see how it could be the author's fault at all. I wish I could have rectified them because I truly loved this story. I think it would have been a perfect read otherwise.
     I still give it Five Stars out of Five because it was supremely interesting and captivating. I think the addition of historical events added to the flavor of the mystery and excitement.
I look forward to more of these Highland Lords!
Great job Tarah Scott!

Tuesday, May 28, 2013

Free today! Now free ebooks/5/28

Saturday, May 25, 2013

Bound By Lies
 Book Reviewed by Linda Hays-Gibbs (author,reviewer)
[ Review Posted: May 21, 2013 ] - See all my reviews
BOUND BY LIES is scorching hot and interesting.

Aileen, a Fomorian, is in lust with Ioducus, king of the river pixies, but they parted years ago. She has made a prosperous life for herself since he last saw her. She has worked hard and made her land the envy of all.

Ioducus comes to visit after haunting dreams that keep him sleepless and frustrated. When he sees Aileen's son, he is struck by the likeness of the boy to himself. He suspects something is not right.

Aileen is afraid of the womanizing pixie king, because she thinks he only wants to steal her son. Years ago, she has betrayed her people and the pixie king, and she was told they were horrible and cruel to people who betrayed them. Even as her fears escalate, so does her lust for Ioducus.

Aileen is stubborn and proud and determined to not let her body rule her with its lust for the king. While Ioducus is charming, witty and lustful. His personality is like that of an arrogant aristocrat used to getting his way and will not be deceived. He is determined to seek revenge on this woman for her lies and for hiding his child from him. He is so arrogant but Aileen tortures him in his lust for her and brings him low.

There is a great deal of hot steamy sex and mind games in this story. It was very different kind of erotic romance set in a fae world.

I enjoyed the tale very much and give it five stars out of five for the creativeness and steamy characters. I look forward to more pixie tales.